Home / Featured / Austin Film Festival Announces Winners of 2016 Film and Screenplay Competitions, Hiscox Insurance Audience and Courage Awards

Austin Film Festival Announces Winners of 2016 Film and Screenplay Competitions, Hiscox Insurance Audience and Courage Awards

Austin Film FestivalAFF, the premier Festival to recognize the writer’s contribution to film, announces its 2016 Jury Award winners, Hiscox Audience and Courage Award Winners.

The following film Jury Award winners were selected by category:

Narrative Feature presented by Seed&Spark: Boys in the Trees, written by Nicholas Verso
Documentary Feature presented by POVSantoalla, directed by Andrew Becker and Daniel Mehrer
Comedy Vanguard FeatureHot Air, written by Jeremy M. Goldstein and Derek Sieg
Dark Matters Feature: The Cliff, written by Natxo Lopez, Andres Martorell, Helena Taberna
Narrative Short: Lucy in My Eyes, written by Megan Park
Narrative Student Short: The Art of Not Appearing, written by Pernille Rivedal Hellevik
Documentary Short presented by IDA: Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405, directed by Frank Stiefel
Animated Short: Hugo Bumfeldt, written by Eva Katinka Bognaar
Scripted Digital Series presented by New Form DigitalGuest Appearances, created by Elizabeth Guest

The Hiscox Audience Award winners are:

Narrative FeatureBlood Stripe, written by Remy Auberjonois and Kate Nowlin
Documentary Feature: Berlin Rebel High School, directed by Alexander Kleider
Dark Matters Feature: Found Footage 3D, written by Steven DeGennaro
Comedy Vanguard Feature: Brave New Jersey, written by Michael Dowling and Jody Lambert
Narrative ShortKilling Thyme, written by Natalie Malla
Documentary Short: Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405, directed by Frank Stiefel
Animated ShortMoon of a Sleepless Night, written by Takeshi Yashiro
Narrative Student ShortRed Apples, written by Ophelia Harutyunyan
Scripted Digital SeriesThe Listening Box, written by Westin Ray
Heart of FilmAmerican Wrestler: The Wizard, written by Brian Rudnick
Stories From AbroadMy Mother’s Wound, written by Ozan Aciktan, Ozan Guven, Fethi Kantarci, Uygar Sirin, Mehmet Turgut, Funda Cetin
Texas IndependentHomestate, written by David Hickey and Blaise Miller
Marquee FeatureLion, written by Luke Davies

One film was selected to receive the Hiscox Courage Award. Voted on by the audience, the Hiscox Courage Award is presented to the film that best embodies the virtue of courage and to the filmmaker who embraced the risk to share the story. The 2016 Courage Award went to Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405.

The following Screenplay Competition winners are:

Drama Screenplay Award presented by the Writers Guild of America, East: Static by Henry Jones
Comedy Screenplay Award presented by Sony Pictures Animation: Dinner with Friends by Geeta Malik
Sci-Fi Screenplay Award: Static by Henry Jones
Enderby Entertainment Award: Static by Henry Jones
Vertigo Entertainment Horror Award: Rock Point Draw by Jeremy David Lee
AMC One-Hour Pilot Award: The Devil and the Deep by Kyle Bugg
Sitcom Pilot Award: Losing It by Louise Rozett
Short Screenplay Award: Futurehealth by Sarah Polhaus
Scripted Digital Series Award presented by New Form Digital: Main Stream by JC Conklin
One-Hour Spec Award: Fargo: The Hunt for the Cobra King by Sarah Beckett
Sitcom Spec Award: Broad City: Short Term Effort by Greg Wayne

Check Also

Spellbook Library

New English-First Manga Series ‘The Spellbook Library’ Debuts On Kodansha.us

Kodansha announced at Anime NYC 2023 the debut of a new english-first Kodansha Reader Portal …